Congratulations on receiving your Texas Ten Step designation! Maintaining this designation signals to physicians, prospective patients, and the community your commitment to offer supportive care to breastfeeding mothers. Redesignation is required every two years. 

**Baby Friendly Hospital Designated Facilities- TTS re-designation is every 5 years and is concurrent with BF re-certification. Please notify TTS Program Coordinator, however, if TTS contact person/information has changed during the time between designation years.

How do I begin the application for re-designation?

It is best to review your facility’s previous Scorecard Evaluation Tool and address any areas where recommendations were made. If you do not have the previous scorecard, email Submit the information below and any support documents that are new or have been revised since your previous application. Some facilities find it useful to refer to the How to Apply section to ensure they are including all eligible support documents.

  • Completed application.
  • Infant feeding policies. (approved versions only, no draft policies)
  • Patient education materials and handouts.
  • Community Prenatal Breastfeeding Education.
  • Staff education/ skills based training.
  • Community Resource List.

Once the re-designation application has been received, the Program Coordinator will make contact either by email or phone to review submitted information with you and to ensure that all necessary documentation is received.

Review of application for re-designation may take several weeks to complete.

*If you have electronic versions of your policy/ documents and application, please send via email to: When sending large email files/ attachments, please send in separate emails with the subject line referencing which step the content relates to. For example: Subject: Support Documents, Step 1 (or Step 2, etc.)

Mail all other documents to:

Texas Ten Step Coordinator-Infant Feeding Branch

4616 West Howard Lane

Bldg. 8, Suite 840, MC 1933

Austin, TX 78728