Become Texas Ten Step

Your Path to Improving Breastfeeding Support

The Texas Ten Step (TTS) program provides resources and a framework to help birthing facilities improve health outcomes for lactating women and their infants through incremental adoption of evidence-based practices. The designation recognizes hospitals that are implementing policies that are aligned with the WHO/ UNICEF’s Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding and encourages continued progress toward the gold-standard designation through the Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative.

Information submitted to TTS is voluntary and self-reporting. There are no external audits or site visits and technical assistance is provided throughout the application process. Your facility is not alone, the TTS program is here to help.

TTS members are dedicated to improving health, in their facility, community and around the state. Making infant feeding a priority in your facility assists with improving performance on state and national improvement measures such as:

  • The Joint Commission’s Perinatal Care core measure of exclusive breastmilk feeding
  • The Center’s for Disease Control and Prevention’s Breastfeeding Report Card and Maternity Practices in Infant Nutrition and Care surveys
  • The Texas WIC Infant Feeding Practices Survey

Once designated, facilities receive:

  • facility listing on directory
  • media kit information to announce designation to community
  • certificate of designation and member posters/ decals to display throughout facility
  • user ID to access the online WIC materials catalog which provides nationally recognized free breastfeeding promotion and education materials for staff and patient education
  • partnership with Texas WIC and Health and Human Services
  • access to staff training and member best practices


Watch the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding videos to learn how your facility can start on the pathway to improvement.

**Members Only- Access Media Kit- Coming soon!